Staff List > Erin Ryan > Stories

Contact

Erin Ryan

Managing Editor

Erin got her first newspaper job in 2002 thanks to a campfire story about Bigfoot. In her award-winning work for weeklies, dailies and magazines throughout the region, she has crawled inside the heads of Pulitzer winners and urban vampires, played Scrabble with nudists, flown an airplane and eaten seven pickles in four minutes. She does not believe in nut grafs.

Story Archive

  • Features

    Thursday, May 19, 2016

    Adventures in the local archive of uncensored, unyielding expressions of humanness.

  • Entertainment

    Wednesday, May 4, 2016

    On Free Comic Book Day, the Sci Fi Center is screening the documentary, which was made over more than a decade.

  • Theater

    Monday, April 25, 2016

    Hamlet and friends unleash an "avalanche of words" in Downtown Las Vegas.

  • Features

    Thursday, April 21, 2016

    Green goodness is sprouting in the neon desert!

  • Features

    Thursday, April 21, 2016

    And should you even bother trying for a New Zealand yam?

  • Taste

    Tuesday, April 19, 2016

    From the DJ in her egg-shaped cage to the acrobats performing on twisted-metal art to the servers shepherding chilled white wine among a crowd of more than 1,000 diners, everyone was dressed in white.

  • Style

    Wednesday, April 13, 2016

    Heels are nice. Kitten-heeled saddle shoes are nicer.

  • Features

    Thursday, April 7, 2016

    Climbing is about battling and reveling, often in the same breath.

  • Features

    Thursday, March 31, 2016

    Seriously, guys. These snacks are the opposite of sad nachos.

  • Nightlife

    Thursday, March 24, 2016

    "The old school, it’s still feel-good music."

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, March 23, 2016

    Plus: Nuptial numbers are down in the (former) wedding capital of the world.

  • Features

    Thursday, March 17, 2016

    The fashion enclave is playing it very cool.

  • Taste

    Wednesday, March 9, 2016

    There are several event dinners in Las Vegas every week, but this one was special, odd and assembled with a greater purpose.

  • As We See It

    Thursday, Feb. 18, 2016

    Are you ready to ride zipline coasters, surf, skate and climb in one 90-acre park?

  • Features

    Thursday, Feb. 18, 2016

    You don’t have to leave your house. Ever.

  • Features

    Thursday, Feb. 11, 2016

    Our annual Love & Sex Issue, from Tinder's sweet side to leather in the bedroom, lumbersexuals and more.

  • Exercise

    Saturday, Jan. 30, 2016

    "It’s so beautiful to be able to stress the body in a certain way and watch it adapt, down to a cellular level."

  • Features

    Thursday, Jan. 28, 2016

    This isn’t about getting away with it. It’s about finding a forever home for grandma’s special wine-flavored cheese ball.

  • Features

    Thursday, Jan. 28, 2016

    Do ham it up with dance moves. Don't drop the mic (you are not Kanye).

  • Features

    Thursday, Jan. 28, 2016

    Refrigerate for about a week, “depending how fast you want to eat this and how crunchy you like it.”

  • Dining

    Thursday, Jan. 14, 2016

    Keep calm and have a beer—the bar is open.

  • As We See It

    Thursday, Jan. 7, 2016

    Given the raging debate about guns in America, you have to wonder if anyone will protest the Second ...

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Jan. 6, 2016

    January is Learn to Ski and Snowboard Month, and Lee Canyon has fresh snow to celebrate.

  • As We See It

    Tuesday, Dec. 29, 2015

    Much more wonderful than a shot glass or a onesie that says “I’m what happened in Vegas.”

  • As We See It

    Tuesday, Dec. 22, 2015

    Yay! Boo! The Valley had its ups and its downs in this week's rankings.

  • As We See It

    Tuesday, Dec. 22, 2015

    It’s impossible to imagine things going back to normal after something so horrifying, but somehow, the normal is never really absent.

  • Screen

    Monday, Dec. 21, 2015

    Nominate deserving folks, and a new show in development might crash their parties with celebrities.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Dec. 16, 2015

    That dashboard Glowstache looks ready to party.

  • Features

    Thursday, Dec. 10, 2015

    How to travel, eat sushi, drink beer and play with maximum Force.

  • Weekly Q&A

    Thursday, Dec. 10, 2015

    A man who can appreciate lowbrow cookies and build epically luxurious cakes. Not to mention a candy-cane dragon ridden by Santa on national television.

  • Features

    Thursday, Dec. 10, 2015

    Quote wars! We've all said we're Luke's father, but what about the other hours of dialogue that didn't end up on T-shirts?

  • Music

    Friday, Dec. 4, 2015

    "Naughty's never felt so nice."

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Dec. 2, 2015

    “The vision comes and goes, mostly goes, but I live for it.”

  • Nightlife

    Tuesday, Dec. 1, 2015

    Blackjack and the big game with a DJ, special drinks and interactive perks for the millennial set.

  • Features

    Wednesday, Nov. 25, 2015

    Until you hop on an electric bike you just can’t imagine how it feels to go 20 mph without peddling.

  • Features

    Wednesday, Nov. 25, 2015

    A chance to change their fates.

  • Noise

    Tuesday, Nov. 24, 2015

    The world just seemed sweeter during the heyday of the three bands.

  • Entertainment

    Thursday, Nov. 19, 2015

    A Harvest Hoedown benefitting Las Vegans in need.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Nov. 11, 2015

    "It was that fantasy we’ve all had, of biting into every chocolate in the box in one mad swoop."

  • Dining

    Friday, Nov. 6, 2015

    Fogo de Chão grand-opened a Downtown Summerlin location, and the Weekly was there to fill up on meat.

  • Features

    Thursday, Nov. 5, 2015

    Who was this alien with smooth cheeks and a big shiny chin?

  • Site Feature

    Thursday, Nov. 5, 2015

    Tis the season of razors sitting idle on sinks.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Nov. 4, 2015

    Plus: The Daily Show and more.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Nov. 4, 2015

    Baby dolls dangling from cups, a specimen made of glossy Weekly covers and more.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Nov. 4, 2015

    The American Cancer Society says most women should start yearly mammograms at age 45.

  • Art

    Saturday, Oct. 31, 2015

    Porcelain visions by Lladró and Burt Reynolds’ prop guns under one elegant roof.

  • Features

    Thursday, Oct. 29, 2015

    Did we eat all of this dessert? Of course. And we would do it again.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Oct. 28, 2015

    The murmurs started early last year, when MGM Resorts revealed that its new 20,000-seat arena would rely on existing properties to accommodate all those cars. But the indignation I’m hearing doesn’t seem as rooted in the potential wallet hit as erosion of the Vegas idea.