Staff List > Erin Ryan > Stories

Contact

Erin Ryan

Managing Editor

Erin got her first newspaper job in 2002 thanks to a campfire story about Bigfoot. In her award-winning work for weeklies, dailies and magazines throughout the region, she has crawled inside the heads of Pulitzer winners and urban vampires, played Scrabble with nudists, flown an airplane and eaten seven pickles in four minutes. She does not believe in nut grafs.

Story Archive

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Oct. 21, 2015

    Plus, new stats on Nevada Facebook users give insight into our LGBTQ community.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Oct. 21, 2015

    Whoever cut it probably stole a bike. Whoever found it made people suck a little less.

  • Halloween

    Saturday, Oct. 17, 2015

    Cleverness, laziness and cheapness join forces in the notion of the one-item costume. What's your jam?

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Oct. 14, 2015

    "He’s known very much in the LGBTQ community for his service and his passion."

  • A&E

    Monday, Oct. 12, 2015

    Always try on the corsets before you hit the meat pies.

  • Weekly Q&A

    Thursday, Oct. 8, 2015

    Scarborough bears an uncanny resemblance to Swift, and we’re not just talking about long legs and red lipstick.

  • A&E

    Thursday, Oct. 8, 2015

    Where else can you rock fairy wings and a drinking horn?

  • Features

    Thursday, Oct. 8, 2015

    If you let this "daiquiri" be what it is, a refreshing punch of fruity, boozy coldness, it can be just perfect.

  • Nightlife

    Thursday, Oct. 8, 2015

    The Waterhole offers a distinct musical vibe every night, and special events are common.

  • Taste

    Friday, Oct. 2, 2015

    Glenfiddich brand ambassador Jennifer Wren on the great ice debate, nose libraries and the "George Takei effect."

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Sept. 30, 2015

    The event transformed our little white sphere into a rare blood moon.

  • Nightlife

    Tuesday, Sept. 29, 2015

    A visual feast of mullets and shredded denim.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Sept. 23, 2015

    Because when someone is putting a name above your eyebrow, it better be as perfect as human hands can muster.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Sept. 16, 2015

    Talk to reps and test badass new bikes on an indoor track.

  • UNLV

    Thursday, Sept. 3, 2015

    You never know when you’re going to get a Slip ’N Slide question, even when you’re the president of a university.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Aug. 26, 2015

    Crown & Anchor Pub is slated to anchor this essential spot, so it's time to take stock before the construction dust settles.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Aug. 26, 2015

    The President gets his own branded candy.

  • Downtown

    Saturday, Aug. 22, 2015

    Steaks by the pool and a llama in the game room—welcome to the new Las Vegas Hostel.

  • Art

    Friday, Aug. 21, 2015

    From figure drawing to tattooing to creative outlets for at-risk kids, Blick is celebrating art and community.

  • A&E

    Thursday, Aug. 20, 2015

    Catch the latest "Back to School" installment, complete with comedy from a "guest sex-ed teacher."

  • Entertainment

    Thursday, Aug. 13, 2015

    "I didn’t bring my Picard action figure, but I am nerding out on the inside. This character helped teach me about honor, love, loss and drinking songs. I really did grow up with him."

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, July 22, 2015

    The show debuts at the D later this month.

  • Comedy

    Sunday, July 12, 2015

    What's up with Piff, from a namesake dessert to a Kickstarter quest to flirtations with Heidi Klum.

  • UFC

    Thursday, July 9, 2015

    "The more I get hurt, the harder I fight. If I go down I’m definitely gonna go down swinging."

  • A&E

    Wednesday, July 8, 2015

    "Mystery Science Theater, but with a satanic priest.”

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, July 8, 2015

    The reflection shows the landscape of the game.

  • A&E

    Thursday, July 2, 2015

    Creators liken the Apocalypse attraction to Call of Duty in a “gauntlet of chaos.”

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, July 1, 2015

    Checking out Adventure Combat Ops, where operatives trained to be invisible could become a little more real.

  • Features

    Thursday, June 25, 2015

    Love at first tweet? A local couple who met on Twitter just tied the knot (on Periscope no less).

  • Features

    Thursday, June 25, 2015

    “You want it to be magical. It’s a production ... we’re used to making everything bigger and grand."

  • Features

    Thursday, June 25, 2015

    Do you know how many wedding guests can fit in a pink super-stretch Hummer?

  • Sports

    Thursday, June 18, 2015

    Massive boulder features, Elvis tunes and holds named after characters on Arrested Development. This is Origin.

  • Electric Daisy Carnival

    Thursday, June 18, 2015

    Banana belt buckles and knee-highs of the future.

  • Food

    Wednesday, June 10, 2015

    Sinatra chef Theo Schoenegger cooked a few of Ol' Blue Eyes' favorite dishes with A.J. Lambert.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, June 3, 2015

    What's taiko, you ask?

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, June 3, 2015

    This photograph is not about the action in the front.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, June 3, 2015

    Plus, headline therapy from the online Daily Mail.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, May 27, 2015

    Turndown service could use a little Abducted Cow jerky.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, May 27, 2015

    Toughness shows on both sides of the big shiny belt.

  • Food

    Wednesday, May 27, 2015

    A national holiday, in a bun.

  • PBR Rodeo

    Thursday, May 21, 2015

    Cates isn't thinking too much about strategy going into Last Cowboy Standing. He’s focused on having a good time and making the best of the hand he’s dealt, whether he’s drawing bulls or cards at the blackjack table.

  • PBR Rodeo

    Wednesday, May 20, 2015

    The Last Cowboy Standing competition is complemented with three days of country music and slices of Western life.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, May 20, 2015

    The plan was to valet “any and all street-legal mutant vehicles,” and to dress accordingly.

  • Nightlife

    Tuesday, May 19, 2015

    Where the music is sweet (and so are the Jell-O shots). It's time to get down with your bad self!

  • A&E

    Thursday, May 14, 2015

    "In 1998, I set out from South America to forge the longest unbroken footpath in human history."

  • Food

    Friday, May 8, 2015

    Moms love breakfast in bed. But they also love cocktails and views of the Strip.

  • Features

    Thursday, May 7, 2015

    For the new fest's feminine side, we’re feeling unfussy with a sweet kiss of the ’70s.

  • Nightlife

    Tuesday, May 5, 2015

    The Container Park bar's seasonal creations run far and wild.

  • Food

    Saturday, May 2, 2015

    “The recent tragic situation in Nepal is very close to our hearts here at Messina."

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, April 29, 2015

    Being a true nerd takes an investment of money, time and spirit.