Site not look beautiful? Click here

Contact

Leslie Ventura

Web Calendar Editor

Leslie Ventura joined the Las Vegas Weekly in 2013 after graduating from UNLV with a bachelor’s in Women’s Studies. In addition to being Calendar Editor of the Weekly, she’s picked the brains of rock stars, glimpsed into the oily world of professional bodybuilding and peered into the lives of Las Vegas’ movers and shakers. She runs on coffee and all things peanut butter-flavored.

Story Archive

  • Music

    Wednesday, May 20, 2015

    The "experimental hivemind" started releasing cassette tapes—yes, cassette tapes—in December.

  • Nightlife

    Tuesday, May 19, 2015

    Where the music is sweet (and so are the Jell-O shots). It's time to get down with your bad self!

  • Food

    Tuesday, May 19, 2015

    Espresso is front and center at the new Green Valley coffee house, with only one "sweetened" drink on the menu.

  • Music

    Saturday, May 16, 2015

    Charli XCX and Ed Sheeran added their unique styles to the pop weekend mix, too.

  • Music

    Wednesday, May 13, 2015

    The local R&B artist talks his new album, wanting to write for Rihanna and being a "Northtown ratchet."

  • Community

    Thursday, May 7, 2015

    “If you think about it, we’re all immigrants."

  • Music

    Thursday, May 7, 2015

    Plus new releases from My Fair Rosalie and The Psyatics.

  • Dining

    Thursday, May 7, 2015

    Chef Donald Lemperle brings fresh new flavors Downtown.

  • Food

    Wednesday, May 6, 2015

    Didn't make a reservation for Mom? You still have time, and we have the details.

  • Music

    Thursday, April 23, 2015

    Plus: The Cult and Public Enemy. Get all the deets here!

  • Music

    Wednesday, April 22, 2015

    Comparisons to The Roots are unavoidable—and that's a good thing.

  • A&E

    Monday, April 20, 2015

    The Strip-side gallery space is currently exhibiting work by photographer Terry O'Neill.

  • Music

    Tuesday, April 14, 2015

    Soon she’s talking about strapping Domino’s pizza boxes to her arms and flying over the Strip’s faux Eiffel Tower.

  • Music

    Monday, April 13, 2015

    The electro-pop duo can't sustain the hype playing the same set forever.

  • A&E

    Thursday, April 9, 2015

    Fans of Purity Ring will find a lot to like on the duo's debut EP.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, April 8, 2015

    New lion cubs join 48 adult lions, many of which were part of the now-shuttered MGM Lion Habitat, at the Henderson park.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, April 8, 2015

    Annie Clark talks riding bicycles with David Byrne, Popeye and pizza as music.

  • Food

    Saturday, April 4, 2015

    You’re all done dyeing eggs and opening Easter baskets—now it’s time to eat!

  • Features

    Thursday, April 2, 2015

    You need a giant purple galaxy yoga mat. And some compression toe socks.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, April 1, 2015

    Bee Master delivers the right amount of wreckage

  • Comedy

    Wednesday, March 25, 2015

    The musical comedy duo's IFC show was recently cancelled. Maybe their crass brand of ukulele-comedy is just better suited for the stage?

  • Music

    Wednesday, March 25, 2015

    Unabashedly wordy and awkwardly charming, the Australian's debut LP is a candid hit.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, March 25, 2015

    Also, recent visitation numbers show gaming is down. Better luck next year?

  • Music

    Friday, March 20, 2015

    Also, Tedeschi Trucks Band and Wu Tang's Ghostface Killah and Raekwon.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, March 18, 2015

    After five years at the Beat, the weekly event says farewell to its longtime home.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, March 18, 2015

    “I think we’re just cut from the same cloth.”

  • Music

    Wednesday, March 18, 2015

    "I [just] find horror movies fascinating enough to the point that I want to write about them.”

  • A&E

    Friday, March 13, 2015

    From Irish pubs to block parties and dinners with Emerald Isle fare, here's where to get your green on this St. Patrick's Day.

  • Dining

    Friday, March 13, 2015

    Get these bad boys before they're gone!

  • A&E

    Thursday, March 12, 2015

    Taxidermy, sex toys, a recording studio, galleries and (soon) a marijuana dispensary—it's all under one roof.

  • Music

    Wednesday, March 11, 2015

    The musician on what attracted him to noise rock, ruining gear at gigs and the loudest show he's been to.

  • Music

    Friday, March 6, 2015

    Plus: A drag queen comedienne and a band of flamenco kings. Get all the deets here.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, March 4, 2015

    Plus, False Cause signs with SquidHat and a new music video from Almost Normal.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Feb. 25, 2015

    Rayner brings emotion to new music, and new energy to the scene.

  • Music

    Friday, Feb. 20, 2015

    Also: Mandalay Bay's Beach Concert Series.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Feb. 18, 2015

    Is Dr. Dog better than ever? Leaman thinks so.

  • As We See It

    Monday, Feb. 16, 2015

    The public event featured a candlelight vigil and speeches from students, prominent local religious leaders and politicians.

  • Music

    Friday, Feb. 13, 2015

    Plus, Barenaked Ladies at the Cosmo. Get all the deets here!

  • As We See It

    Thursday, Feb. 12, 2015

    While Toyboxx's gallery will transition into a retail space, it's already functioning as an offbeat forum for new ways to talk—and think—about sex.

  • A&E

    Thursday, Feb. 12, 2015

    Judging them are the stars who do it best.

  • Nightlife

    Thursday, Feb. 12, 2015

    Are you deep and smoky or bold and spicy?

  • Music

    Wednesday, Feb. 11, 2015

    Powerhouse musicianship drives a spooky, emotive performance.

  • A&E

    Thursday, Feb. 5, 2015

    "My life is my art, and my art is my life."

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Feb. 4, 2015

    The trio brought everything you’d expect—jokes about getting laid, diamond-sharp guitars and glittery, metallic solos …

  • Music

    Wednesday, Feb. 4, 2015

    If you hung out at Money Plays, chances are you noticed (or were part of) Vegas on the Mic.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Feb. 4, 2015

    The 305 Fitness class, which combines a nightclub environment with high-interval training, recently landed at the hotel's pop-up space.

  • Music

    Friday, Jan. 30, 2015

    Plus, Weird Al!

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Jan. 28, 2015

    Will Smoke + Mirrors live up to Night Visions' glory?

  • Nightlife

    Tuesday, Jan. 27, 2015

    The brewery features a well-rounded menu for craft-beer lovers, as well as newbie hopheads.

  • Adult

    Tuesday, Jan. 27, 2015

    No, that's not just a stuffed animal ...

Real Time Analytics