Contact

Spencer Patterson

Spencer Patterson is the Editor of Las Vegas Weekly, having previously served as Managing Editor, Arts & Entertainment Editor and a Staff Writer for the magazine. A graduate of Cornell University, he's an obsessive album listener who can typically be found earphoned, discovering new artists or digging deeply into favorites' back-catalogs. He's also a voracious sea urchin eater; if you have a celestial uni spot to recommend, please drop him a line.

Story Archive

  • Intersection

    Wednesday, Dec. 7, 2016

    UNLV looks to get revenge against Duke during Saturday's T-Mobile basketball game.

  • Intersection

    Wednesday, Nov. 30, 2016

    Did Foley fumble the puck?

  • Intersection

    Tuesday, Nov. 22, 2016

    The Crapshoot Comedy Festival is three nights of stand-up showcases and live podcasts ... and it's coming our way.

  • Noise

    Tuesday, Nov. 22, 2016

    “Owner of a Lonely Heart” brought the crowd to its feet, but “Hold On” and “Changes” felt like real time-capsule gems.

  • Noise

    Wednesday, Nov. 16, 2016

    "This is probably the last time this is gonna happen, so we want to make sure it’s a really good show."

  • Noise

    Wednesday, Nov. 16, 2016

    Tickets are on sale now for the heavy-rock fest's second Vegas edition, scheduled for August at the Hard Rock Hotel.

  • Noise

    Wednesday, Nov. 9, 2016

    When you name your band Diarrhea Planet, it defines you, in the crappiest way possible.

  • Noise

    Saturday, Oct. 29, 2016

    The true magic came early in the second set, during the jamming portion of TV on the Radio cover “Golden Age."

  • Features

    Thursday, Oct. 27, 2016

    Halloween brings out some weird human behavior, so this year we went with it and created a way to determine the holiday’s ultimate stomach stuffer.

  • Intersection

    Wednesday, Oct. 26, 2016

    “Whenever music is performed publicly, there’s an obligation to make sure the songwriter is being compensated properly."

  • Noise

    Wednesday, Oct. 26, 2016

    A look at five of Phish’s most famous Vegas gigs.

  • Features

    Thursday, Oct. 6, 2016

    Get a sneak preview this weekend, when T-Mobile Arena hosts two preseason games and a college hockey tilt.

  • Features

    Thursday, Oct. 6, 2016

    Tip No. 1: Don't get caught watching the puck.

  • Noise

    Wednesday, Sept. 28, 2016

    "My younger self would be a little surprised, but I think I was always heading this way."

  • Features

    Thursday, Sept. 1, 2016

    Plus, 10 new records you'll want to spin this season.

  • Noise

    Wednesday, Aug. 31, 2016

    Psycho's founder is already promising a return to the Hard Rock, vowing the 2017 edition will be even “bigger and better.”

  • Noise

    Monday, Aug. 22, 2016

    From Boris to Converge, Mudhoney to Sleep, we'll help you plan your festival weekend.

  • Noise

    Thursday, Aug. 18, 2016

    Vile deserved better from Las Vegas, especially given the blazing performance he and his band delivered.

  • Noise

    Tuesday, Aug. 2, 2016

    Duran Duran's show felt a bit … predictable.

  • Noise

    Friday, July 29, 2016

    The label's second phase begins with a rollout of seven titles, most available for order or pre-order right now.

  • Noise

    Tuesday, July 5, 2016

    37: Total songs performed. Don't you want to know which ones made the set list?

  • Intersection

    Wednesday, June 22, 2016

    When the puck drops on the 2017-2018 season, this will become a major-league city in the most literal sense.

  • Noise

    Saturday, June 18, 2016

    Was it worth it? Absolutely, for space-eating post-rock, noisy shoegaze and bouncy cuts reminiscent of late-’70s British post-punk.

  • Noise

    Wednesday, June 1, 2016

    The band played a number of its radio hits as well as big swaths of its concert LPs Tommy and Quadrophenia.

  • Intersection

    Thursday, May 26, 2016

    Our content has never looked better, and we’re confident you’ll find its new presentations more useful and informative than ever.

  • Noise

    Wednesday, May 25, 2016

    The English goth icons' dense, swirling music found an ideal mate in the intimate Chelsea, and frontman Robert Smith was in fine voice and spirit.

  • Taste

    Friday, May 20, 2016

    Preserve that palate, folks.

  • Noise

    Wednesday, May 18, 2016

    It felt as much like a homecoming for fans as for the bands.

  • Noise

    Wednesday, May 11, 2016

    "We’re gonna try to play as much Friday as we can before we pass out, just like we used to.”

  • Features

    Thursday, April 28, 2016

    Black Panther's badass claws or Olivia Munn's latex costume?

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, April 27, 2016

    "For me, it’s another reminder to see musical heroes while I can. No matter how long it lasts, life’s too short—mine and theirs—for regrets over missed opportunities."

  • Noise

    Wednesday, April 20, 2016

    Beyond Kind of Blue.

  • Noise

    Monday, April 18, 2016

    "On Sunday, my search for music that sounds nothing like Major Lazer led me to …"

  • Noise

    Sunday, April 17, 2016

    For years, fans yearned to see Axl Rose and Slash together onstage again—and the results are impressive.

  • Noise

    Saturday, April 16, 2016

    It felt fitting that LCD Soundsystem’s fourth performance at the festival—and first festival appearance anywhere since re-forming—be of the night-capping variety.

  • Noise

    Thursday, April 14, 2016

    And yes, weekend passes can be had at relatively reasonable prices if you look around (though beware of counterfeits).

  • Noise

    Wednesday, April 13, 2016

    Was this the greatest night in Las Vegas rock history? Sounds about right.

  • A&E

    Thursday, March 31, 2016

    The Boss, T-Swift and many more.

  • Music

    Wednesday, March 23, 2016

    A few more oldies would have put the night over the top, but it was still a righteous return to the stage.

  • Music

    Wednesday, March 16, 2016

    Looking back at Neon Reverb 2016: Individually, Ty Segall won the weekend for me, but my MVP award goes to the Vegas scene, for reconfirming its depth and diversity.

  • Music

    Monday, March 14, 2016

    The California fuzz-rocker delivered a manic performance ranking with the fest's all-time best.

  • Music

    Friday, March 11, 2016

    For the record, Neon Reverb’s opening night wrapped up at 12:59 a.m. at the Bunkhouse on Friday.

  • Features

    Thursday, March 10, 2016

    The Walkmen, Moonface, new discoveries and late, late nights.

  • Music

    Friday, March 4, 2016

    Head to Oddfellows Saturday night for a Reverb-focused listening party.

  • Noise

    Wednesday, March 2, 2016

    Lesh took the stage with his primary touring outfit, Phil & Friends, as well as the Terrapin Family Band.

  • Noise

    Wednesday, Feb. 24, 2016

    For every interesting turn, the experimental-pop group lights off at least one dud.

  • Noise

    Friday, Feb. 19, 2016

    Something's different, and it goes way beyond the setlist. BTS is a trio tonight!

  • A&E

    Thursday, Feb. 18, 2016

    Festival passes to the 75-plus-act Downtown Vegas festival go on sale today at 10 a.m.

  • Features

    Thursday, Jan. 28, 2016

    "if you can connect with the artist, you just moved the ball way down the field."

  • Features

    Thursday, Jan. 21, 2016

    "The first time I saw them I was floored by the intensity,” says promoter Patrick “Pulsar” Trout.