Band Guide

Music Scene

Find a Band



Genres: Classic rock, Comedy, Southern rock

Nawgahyde are the self-described "Kings of Mustache Rock." The band was formed in late 1972 by the Texas brothers Dallas, Houston and Fort Worth along with their cousin Skeeter. After a few rehearsals the band noticed that “somethin' sounded funny." It was soon discovered the band had no bass player and at that moment stepbrother Florida Lee was added to the line up. It was around this same time that the band trademarked the phrase, "I'll Kick Your Ass™."

In the summer of 1977 the band was on the cusp of “makin’ it big” when tragedy struck. At a fourth of July barbecue, Fort Worth, in an effort to impress his brothers, tried an outlandish practical joke that went horribly wrong. Houston recalls, “All I remember is Fort Worth standing there with a can of beer in one hand and a roman candle in the other. I'll never forget his last words…’Hey, watch this!’”

Determined to keep rolling, the band soon added guitarist Nacho, who they found standing outside of a local hardware store looking for employment. Incidentally, this store was later franchised and eventually became part of the chain known as Home Depot.

Like NAWGAHYDE? Tell us!

Commenting requires registration.

Comments are moderated by Las Vegas Weekly editors. Our goal is not to limit the discussion, but rather to elevate it. Comments should be relevant and contain no abusive language. Full comments policy.

Already Registered? Log In Below.
Password:  Forgotten your password?

Subscribe Get email updates when bands add an event.

Flash Placeholder
Free MP3s:
Cat Scratch Fever
Don't Fear the Reaper
Flirtin' with Disaster
Free Bird
Hold on Loosely
Slow Ride
Houston Texas – Lead guitar, Vocals
Florida Lee – Bass, Vocals
Nacho – Lead guitar
Skeeter – Drums
Dallas Texas – Vocals
1972, Waco, TX
Lynyrd Skynyrd, Guns & Roses, The Marx Brothers.
Current status
Playing every Saturday at Sunset Station/Club Madrid.
Gimme Back My MulletGimme Back My Mullet
Released: 1974
Released: 1977
Old & FlatinumOld & Flatinum
Released: 1978
Hair of the NawgHair of the Nawg
Released: 1979
Released: 1980
Dirty Dudes Done with TeethDirty Dudes Done with Teeth
Released: 1981
Southern StyleSouthern Style
Released: 1982
Piece of CrapPiece of Crap
Released: 1983
Get a NipGet a Nip
Released: 1987
Appetite for StupidityAppetite for Stupidity
Released: 1988