Nevada Legislature

Gentlemen, start your excuses

On October 1, a new state law goes into effect that allows cops to fine you $100 if you have not registered your car within 60 days of moving to Nevada. In anticipation of this law, here are some excuses you can have handy in case you are stopped:

1 “I’m visiting a sick friend. She’s been sick nearly two years.”

2 “I’m just passing through town. I came here to get a look at Boulder Dam and, time willing, John Ensign’s hair.”

More

Beyond the Weekly
Sporting out-of-state plates? Better be visiting (Las Vegas Sun, 6/26/09)

3 “I’m a typical Las Vegan. I don’t plan on living here much longer, so what’s the point?”

4 “I just assumed Gov. Gibbons vetoed that law. My bad.”

5 “Hey, look! A homeowner who’s not in foreclosure!” (Sound of car zooming away.)

Share
Photo of Ken Miller

Ken Miller is Las Vegas Magazine's managing editor, having previously served as associate editor at Las Vegas Weekly, assistant features ...

Get more Ken Miller

Previous Discussion:

  • The sex educator and owner of Detroit's Spectrum boutique brings her humor and expertise to AVN.

  • “Compared to my Ohio life, people are more positive here, more responsive to literary things.”

  • “We break down all the barriers that led them to become homeless, so they can become self-sufficient and sustain on their own.”

  • Get More As We See It Stories
Top of Story