Staff List > Staff Bio

Contact

Spencer Patterson

Spencer Patterson is the Editor of Las Vegas Weekly, having previously served as Managing Editor, Arts & Entertainment Editor and a Staff Writer for the magazine. A graduate of Cornell University, he's an obsessive album listener who can typically be found earphoned, discovering new artists or digging deeply into favorites' back-catalogs. He's also a voracious sea urchin eater; if you have a celestial uni spot to recommend, please drop him a line.

Recent Stories (view all stories)

  • Intersection

    Thursday, July 6, 2017

    Is the new version really all that terrible? It depends who you ask.

  • Intersection

    Thursday, June 22, 2017

    Remember when a Kodiak bear out-hot dogged competitive-eating hero Tokeru Kobayashi?

  • A&E

    Tuesday, June 20, 2017

    “These are the 100 emerging artists you should be paying attention to, because they’re going to really matter in the next 18 to 24 months."

  • Intersection

    Wednesday, June 14, 2017

    Traffic has been EDC’s one unrelenting headache since the festival moved to Vegas.

  • Noise

    Wednesday, June 14, 2017

    Like much of folk music, it conjures a less complicated time and place, but more than most, it feels like it was specifically crafted to provide escape from the exasperating world around us.

  • Noise

    Monday, June 5, 2017

    The band did an excellent job rewarding repeat customers, who heard 35 unique tunes between two recent visits to the venue.

  • Noise

    Monday, May 29, 2017

    Far from noodling, leader Tom Verlaine picked each note and made every sound with very specific purpose.

  • A&E

    Thursday, May 18, 2017

    “Someday I’d like to have something living in Vegas. Some sort of residency would be optimal.”

  • A&E

    Thursday, May 11, 2017

    Kabuto, Soho and, yes, an all-you-can-eat feast.

  • Noise

    Wednesday, May 3, 2017

    Principal songwriter Neil Halstead’s wondrous palate still tickles the senses the way it did circa Souvlaki.

  • Friday, Feb. 19, 2016

    Built to Spill's Doug Martsch, Tuesday night at the Bunkhouse.

  • Sunday, Aug. 30, 2015

    So many choices ...

  • Sunday, Aug. 30, 2015

  • Sunday, Aug. 30, 2015

  • Tuesday, June 16, 2015

    Uni Udon