Site not look beautiful? Click here

Staff List > Staff Bio

Rick Lax

Rick wrote the books Fool Me Once: Hustlers, Hookers, Headliners, and How Not to Get Screwed in Vegas and Lawyer Boy: A Case Study on Growing Up. Lax enjoys playing Mafia (the party game, not the Facebook game), and hopes to turn Sister Act 2: Back in the Habit into a cult film before he dies. He currently writes for Las Vegas Weekly.

Recent Stories (view all stories)

  • A&E

    Tuesday, Nov. 26, 2013

    Imagine that Facebook became a universal operating system. Imagine that Facebook took over. Now you're set to read this terrifying new book.

  • Film

    Monday, Nov. 11, 2013

    If you want to see a movie about what the magic industry’s truly like, Desperate Acts of Magic is the film for you.

  • Print

    Wednesday, Nov. 6, 2013

    What’s missing is the slew of surprising psychological, economic and cultural curveballs

  • Nightlife

    Friday, Nov. 1, 2013

    I went as Gaston, and in the process, I learned that quite a few people have serious Beauty and the Beast fetishes.

  • Nightlife

    Tuesday, Oct. 29, 2013

    "I spotted a panda kissing a pirate, a team of human lampshades, a fleet of pilots and stewardesses, and a guy in a thong."

  • Casino

    Sunday, Oct. 20, 2013

    What does Vegas get right and wrong about its Italian counterparts?

  • Dining

    Monday, Oct. 14, 2013

    Recently I was forced to confront my gluttony and consumerism head-on and where you'd least expect it.

  • Casino

    Saturday, Oct. 12, 2013

    Ever wonder what a $100,000 chip looks like?

  • Entertainment

    Wednesday, Sept. 18, 2013

    Short writing is king. End of story.

  • As We See It

    Friday, Sept. 13, 2013

    Limit poker is for more cautious players, like octogenarians and Cleverboy, but it can sometimes yield interesting bonuses.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Aug. 28, 2013

    "You pitiful things; you’d probably wait around all afternoon for me. Lucky for you I have plans tonight and have to wrap this up soon."

  • As We See It

    Monday, March 4, 2013

    Imagine if you could acquire just one of these roosters for less than $2,500. Wait, what?

  • CES

    Friday, Jan. 11, 2013

    Breo's head massager at the 2012 Consumer Electronics Show. Yup, it's way better than the one I just bought.

  • As We See It

    Tuesday, Sept. 18, 2012

    It wouldn't be very clever if Cleverboy shared his card number, now would it?

  • A&E

    Tuesday, Sept. 11, 2012

    This window display is one of few obvious promotions for Cirque du Soleil's upcoming Zarkana.