Site not look beautiful? Click here

Staff List > Staff Bio

Steve Friess

Steve Friess is a freelance journalist based in Ann Arbor, Michigan. His work has appeared in the New York Times, Newsweek and USA Today, among many other outlets.

Recent Stories (view all stories)

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, April 22, 2015

    A Chronicle of Philanthropy analysis found that Nevada has seen the fastest rate of growth of charitable donations.

  • Gaming

    Wednesday, April 8, 2015

    No good arguments or data to support banning online gambling were cited at a Congressional hearing last month.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, March 25, 2015

    "That’s gotta be going through his head ... how he went from going places and now it turned very quickly. He’s doing a lot of reflection right now.”

  • History

    Wednesday, March 11, 2015

    For a city as young as Las Vegas, it’s amazing how little we really know.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Feb. 25, 2015

    The fallacy of the failed “family-friendly” era is as absurd as it is infuriating.

  • SLS Las Vegas

    Wednesday, Feb. 4, 2015

    "Sometimes even when the house loses, the neighborhood wins."

  • Betting

    Wednesday, Jan. 21, 2015

    “I guess, because I was winning, they let a lot of it slide, and there haven’t been complaints so far, as far as I know.”

  • Wynn Las Vegas

    Wednesday, Jan. 7, 2015

    While quick to condemn our political and economic system, Wynn continues to handle China with kid gloves.

  • Magic

    Wednesday, Dec. 10, 2014

    The magician's claim that “magic hasn’t been presented in the right way in America” rings a bit hollow in Las Vegas.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Nov. 26, 2014

    "I’m just saying we don’t know and, legally, nobody has proven anything. That used to matter, right?"

Real Time Analytics