Site not look beautiful? Click here

Staff List > Staff Bio

Steve Friess

Steve Friess is a freelance journalist based in Ann Arbor, Michigan. His work has appeared in the New York Times, Newsweek and USA Today, among many other outlets.

Recent Stories (view all stories)

  • Gaming

    Wednesday, Aug. 20, 2014

    MGM's Gold Strike casino in Tunica, Miss., recently opened a nonsmoking area.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Aug. 6, 2014

    "Here’s the dirty little secret about Uber: There is no dirty little secret."

  • Gaming

    Wednesday, July 9, 2014

    Seriously, the 2 next to the 5? This is Las Vegas!

  • Entertainment

    Wednesday, June 18, 2014

    At 29, Vanessa Selbst is already 22nd in tournament history with $10.5 million in prize winnings. That includes three World Series of Poker tournaments, including one last month in which she took home more than ...

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, May 28, 2014

    The stamp launches this week.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, May 21, 2014

    He walked away from Steve Wynn. And a lot of money.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, May 7, 2014

    Both are pioneering companies on the subject of gay rights, and together they own six casinos in the southern state.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, April 23, 2014

    Ordinarily, it wouldn’t be worth noting that, over lunch one Saturday, I ran into yet another standard-issue anti-Las Vegas screed by yet another holier-than-thou visitor rolling out all the usual clichés and tropes.

  • UNLV

    Wednesday, April 9, 2014

    Columnist Steve Friess discusses student-athlete unions, UNLV's heyday and more with the former Runnin' Rebel.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, March 26, 2014

    Sure, we have the low taxes and low regulation sales pitch for companies looking to move. But what about an educated workforce?