Staff List > Staff Bio

Contact

  • Photo of Jim Begley

Jim Begley

Jim Begley is an avid food lover who began writing about his Las Vegas dining adventures to defray his obscene restaurant spending. Follow Jim on Twitter: @splurgemonkey.

Recent Stories (view all stories)

  • A&E

    Thursday, Nov. 30, 2017

    If you’re not sweating it, you’re not getting it.

  • A&E

    Tuesday, Nov. 21, 2017

    “Once a dish is right, it’s time to change it.”

  • Taste

    Thursday, Nov. 2, 2017

    The outstanding skewers are fast becoming destination dishes.

  • A&E

    Thursday, Oct. 26, 2017

    Offerings include the “Butcher Block” Craft Burger, ready to take its place among the hierarchy of the Valley’s best.

  • Features

    Thursday, Oct. 19, 2017

    From Tacos El Gordo to China Poblano, the greatest local versions of the most important food.

  • Taste

    Tuesday, Oct. 3, 2017

    Patty tries to talk me into one of her cinnamon rolls. I regret not taking her advice on that one.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Sept. 20, 2017

    Frozen beer, flaky potato pancakes and much more await at Palazzo.

  • A&E

    Thursday, Aug. 24, 2017

    Chef Josh Horton isn’t serving any old bar food. The former Cili at Bali Hai executive sous has high-end chops.

  • A&E

    Thursday, Aug. 10, 2017

    Dig if you will the picture, of you and I engaged in a fish.

  • A&E

    Thursday, July 27, 2017

    Local Greek options have expanded impressively, particularly in the southwest Valley.