Staff List > Staff Bio

Contact

  • Photo of Jim Begley

Jim Begley

Jim Begley is an avid food lover who began writing about his Las Vegas dining adventures to defray his obscene restaurant spending. Follow Jim on Twitter: @splurgemonkey.

Recent Stories (view all stories)

  • Nightlife

    Thursday, March 9, 2017

    This garlic fish dish might alter your consciousness.

  • Reviews

    Thursday, March 2, 2017

    What was a generic East Flamingo video poker bar is now a delicious destination.

  • Reviews

    Thursday, Feb. 16, 2017

    Chabuya’s seafood-forward menu rewards adventurous and risk-averse diners.

  • Reviews

    Thursday, Feb. 2, 2017

    The Mandalay Bay mainstay has been revamped with tremendous results.

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2017

    This chef-driven experience is one of a kind in Las Vegas.

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, Dec. 28, 2016

    For about three years now, chef Masaharu Morimoto has flirted with Las Vegas.

  • Taste

    Wednesday, Dec. 21, 2016

    Jim Begley and Brock Radke pick the most brilliant culinary arrivals this year.

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, Dec. 14, 2016

    The best seats in the house are the four stools at the end of the counter surrounding the open kitchen, where you can witness noodle pulling and knife shaving up close.

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, Dec. 7, 2016

    The popular local food truck goes the brick-and-mortar route on West Sahara.

  • Reviews

    Tuesday, Nov. 22, 2016

    All your favorites are here, like street tacos, burritos, chilaquiles and much more.