Staff List > Staff Bio

Contact

  • Photo of Jim Begley

Jim Begley

Jim Begley is an avid food lover who began writing about his Las Vegas dining adventures to defray his obscene restaurant spending. Follow Jim on Twitter: @splurgemonkey.

Recent Stories (view all stories)

  • A&E

    Thursday, Aug. 9, 2018

    Every day is like Friday.

  • A&E

    Thursday, July 26, 2018

    The uni duo allows diners to compare the subtle differences in salinity between Santa Barbara, California, and Hokkaido, Japan, versions.

  • A&E

    Thursday, May 31, 2018

    Their recently unveiled brunch immediately vaulted to the upper echelon of our city’s’ midday offerings. It’s that good.

  • A&E

    Thursday, May 24, 2018

    Block 9 is less a new restaurant than a quick-service Secret Kitchen.

  • Taste

    Monday, May 14, 2018

    From the Grand Tasting at Caesars Palace to Picnic at the Park to Black Tap at Venetian, we were all over the big Strip food fest.

  • A&E

    Thursday, April 26, 2018

    At 99 cents each, you can make a reasonable meal from four of the steamed dumplings, which are like Chinese shumai—wonton wrappers swaddling savory pork.

  • A&E

    Thursday, April 12, 2018

    Bonus: Some dishes are sent out on a robot cart!

  • A&E

    Thursday, March 15, 2018

    Beyond tacos, the menu features a collection of ceviches, cocktails and tostadas, all of them seafood-centric.

  • A&E

    Thursday, Feb. 22, 2018

    It features a menu with lighter fare paying homage to the Amalfi Coast in Southern Italy.

  • A&E

    Thursday, Feb. 8, 2018

    The time put into the soup is apparent.