Site not look beautiful? Click here

Staff List > Jim Begley > Stories

Contact

  • Photo of Jim Begley

Jim Begley

Jim Begley is an avid food lover who began writing about his Las Vegas dining adventures to defray his obscene restaurant spending. Follow Jim on Twitter: @splurgemonkey.

Story Archive

  • Food

    Wednesday, May 27, 2015

    While our English word barbecue is derived from barbacoa, the two styles of cooking couldn’t be more dissimilar.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, April 29, 2015

    This restaurant renovation includes all-new everything, and it deserves to be on your must-eat list.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, April 29, 2015

    The owner of the upcoming Harvest & Larder restaurant joined a murderer's row of guest chefs for a flavor-packed pop-up dinner.

  • Food

    Wednesday, April 1, 2015

    Do not miss the Nigerian prawn with uni butter.

  • Food

    Wednesday, March 18, 2015

    Chef Gregg Fortunato is doing great things on Spring Mountain Road.

  • Food

    Wednesday, March 11, 2015

    Chef and restaurateur Nina Manchev is at it again, bringing flavors from all over the world to your morning meal.

  • Food

    Wednesday, March 4, 2015

    This hip new Indian restaurant is a different beast, with nary a buffet line in sight.

  • Food

    Wednesday, March 4, 2015

    The food is just more interesting at this neighborhood bar. Try making the skirt steak and crushed potatoes in your kitchen.

  • Food

    Wednesday, Feb. 18, 2015

    A neighborhood restaurant operated by nightclub folk could be a disaster, but Lucky Foo's is the farthest thing from it.

  • Food

    Wednesday, Feb. 11, 2015

    Add another great local izakaya to your eat list.

  • Food

    Thursday, Jan. 29, 2015

    From Shake Shack to Guy Fieri and hangover burgers to jerk turkey burgers, let the battle for the best commence!

  • Food

    Wednesday, Jan. 28, 2015

    The scarcity of food from the Land of Dixie in the desert raises expectations for this Miami import.

  • Food

    Wednesday, Jan. 21, 2015

    We didn’t know deep-fried scallops were a thing, but we're glad they are.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, Jan. 14, 2015

    Thirty-hour sous vide Berkshire pork belly? Yes please.

  • Food

    Wednesday, Jan. 7, 2015

    The restaurateurs behind the former Tverskaya have returned, armed with delicious pelmeni and vereniki.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, Dec. 24, 2014

    We have some surprises—only five of our 14 choices are on the Strip this year.

  • Food

    Wednesday, Dec. 24, 2014

    Jim Begley focuses on five most memorable bites, from bar snacks to escargot pie.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, Dec. 10, 2014

    Chef Brian Lhee's late-night, collaborative party turns into a monthly event.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, Nov. 26, 2014

    A unique concept and precision execution make this distant southeastern restaurant worth the trip.

  • Food

    Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2014

    Start with potato pancakes and save room for the rouladen.

  • Food

    Wednesday, Nov. 12, 2014

    Meat and potatoes? Nah. Try 87 different dishes from blood sausage with sea urchin to suckling pig.

  • Food

    Wednesday, Oct. 29, 2014

    The search for the perfectly overflowing pita sandwich leads to Yassou.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, Oct. 22, 2014

    And its varied menu is arguably better than the award-winner down the street.

  • Booze Issue

    Thursday, Oct. 9, 2014

    Max Solano's menu is worth the trip—you just have to catch him at the Venetian steakhouse's bar.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, Oct. 8, 2014

    The multi-course dinner at new Japanese Cuisine by Omae is unlike any other local dining experience.

  • Food

    Wednesday, Oct. 1, 2014

    Not only was there swine galore, but there were pork fat-washed Templeton Rye cocktails, too.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, Oct. 1, 2014

    Get ready to pair a huge barbecue turkey leg with a can of sake while you're enjoying the festival.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, Sept. 17, 2014

    This menu is interesting and affordable, worth a visit even if the cuisine can be a bit confusing.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, Sept. 3, 2014

    Our favorite dish on this menu is the chicken souvlaki plate with rice pilaf, warm pita and creamy tzatziki.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, Aug. 27, 2014

    Finding Mexican food in Las Vegas is easy, but just because it’s plentiful doesn’t mean it’s all good.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, Aug. 20, 2014

    The Turkeygiving Burger should be crowned Vegas’ quintessential Thanksgiving-inspired dish.

  • Nightlife

    Tuesday, Aug. 5, 2014

    Rare varieties from France, a mead from Denmark and more at the Cosmopolitan eatery.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, July 30, 2014

    You call it a hoagie or a hero or a sub. These guys call it a grinder. It's delicious by any name.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, July 23, 2014

    The Chicago original is known for a very loud style of customer service. At the local version, it's straight-up Vegas hospitality.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, July 2, 2014

    Las Vegas is a hotbed of creative Japanese cuisine, and Cocokala is a welcome addition.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, June 25, 2014

    The mind of a chef is a dangerously delicious place to get lost.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, June 18, 2014

    Cool and accessible with a creative, comfy menu, Carson Kitchen is destined to be a Downtown hit.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, May 28, 2014

    Bacon-wrapped meatloaf with a Belgian Moinette Brune strong ale? Beer for the win!

  • Dining

    Wednesday, May 21, 2014

    It looks like a typical neighborhood gaming bar, but it doesn't taste like one.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, May 14, 2014

    Which will you prefer, brick-oven pies at Flour & Barley or build-your-own pizzas at 800 Degrees?

  • Dining

    Wednesday, May 14, 2014

    The Grand Tasting is still the centerpiece of this annual fantastic foodfest, but there were coma-inducing delights to be had throughout the weekend.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, May 7, 2014

    With its obvious ties to Macau, Las Vegas was due for a great Portuguese restaurant.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, April 30, 2014

    Most local Korean joints specialize in barbecue, but Q diversifies with fried chicken, pizza and more.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, April 23, 2014

    The creativity and innovation behind the latest Cosmopolitan venue extends to its food.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, April 2, 2014

    The Big Easy has reached Vegas. Get ready for light and flaky rolls stuffed with fried seafood from the Gulf Coast.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, March 26, 2014

    You can stuff a pasty with damn near anything.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, March 19, 2014

    Bobby Flay's fine-tuned burger machine is a welcome addition to the Strip.

  • Taste

    Wednesday, March 19, 2014

    The Downtown sandwich stand has flavors and prices that fit everyone's needs.

  • Dining

    Thursday, March 6, 2014

    Hungover? Go grab yourself a bowl at El Menudazo.

  • Dining

    Thursday, March 6, 2014

    The new restaurant takes the space formerly known as Diego with a wide-open renovation primed for food and fun.

Real Time Analytics